Author Topic: Help with Correlation function and Coordination polyhedra  (Read 217 times)

mrodriguez

Help with Correlation function and Coordination polyhedra
« on: January 28, 2019, 06:56:26 PM »
Hello,

I am new with the use of OVITO. I am studying the structure of a simulation with three elements (A, B, O) and since I start from a random configuration I need to know the following:

- Is it possible to identify trigonal structural units (AO3) and structural tetrahedral units (AO4)? Is there any way to count how many units I have of one type and how many of the others?

I found the Coordination polyhedra functions in the manual for the first case, but it only allows me to see structures type AO4.

- Is it possible to obtain the total structure factor or an equivalent function? I also found in the manual the Correlation function, but it's not clear to me what I'm looking for.

Thanks for your help

Constanze Kalcher

• Administrator
Re: Help with Correlation function and Coordination polyhedra
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2019, 12:31:39 PM »
Hello,

concerning your first two questions, yes, that should be possible. I would suggest to use a bond-based criterion, to identify the structural units - more specifically the Create bonds modifier.
http://ovito.org/manual_testing/particles.modifiers.create_bonds.html
Let's say that whenever an O atom is found in the neighborhood of an A atom within a cutoff of 2 Å , or whatever your distance unit is, you consider them bound.
Thus, you could choose the option "Pair-wise cutoffs" and edit only the cutoff value for A-O pairs to 2.
In a next step, you could use a Python script modifier function,
https://ovito.org/manual_testing/particles.modifiers.python_script.html
that loops over all A-atoms and counts the number of A-O bonds connected to each A atom, which should either be three or four in your case, right?
If you need help with the scripting part let me know.