Author Topic: How to cut the atomic configuration into desired size?  (Read 368 times)

RMCtestFYP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
How to cut the atomic configuration into desired size?
« on: August 04, 2018, 01:39:02 PM »
For example, I want to get a layer of about 0.3 nm to see its atomic arrangement.
I have tried some option in OVITO, but I cannot cut into such small size.
It just cuts at most half the size.
How should I do this? :)

Alexander Stukowski

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
Re: How to cut the atomic configuration into desired size?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2018, 08:12:10 PM »
Dear RMCtestFYP,

Sorry, but your question is confusing. On one hand, you write that you cannot make a cut of such a small size. In other words, you would like the cut to be smaller than it currently is. On the other hand, you write that it (I assume you mean the Slice function of OVITO) cuts at most half of the size you want, but not more.

Please attach a picture showing what you have been doing so far, and add a graphic to clarify how you would like it to be. please also describe more precisely what tools in OVITO you have been trying so far. 
Thanks.

-Alex

RMCtestFYP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: How to cut the atomic configuration into desired size?
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2018, 01:29:36 PM »
Sorry for unclear wording :'(
For example, in the picture uploaded, the left picture is the original image in OVITO.
If I want get a image which is only about few nm thick, like the right picture.
I want to have a look on the linear structure of the sample.
How can I do this?

Alexander Stukowski

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
Re: How to cut the atomic configuration into desired size?
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2018, 01:48:15 PM »
Have you already tried applying the Slice modifier? It lets you cut out thin slices of configurable width from an atomistic structure.

RMCtestFYP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: How to cut the atomic configuration into desired size?
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2018, 04:29:59 AM »
Thank you for your suggestion, it works now! :)