Author Topic: How to get the coordination number of particular atoms?  (Read 179 times)

RMCtestFYP

How to get the coordination number of particular atoms?
« on: July 26, 2018, 05:14:24 PM »
Hello, I encounter some problems when I use the OVITO.
It is my first time to use this software.

I have a .cfg file. I have uploaded it here. Is the format correct to input in OVITO?

I made a RMC simulation, the sample contains 3 elements.
I use OVITO to analyze its atomic structure.
How should I find the coordination number of certain pairs of atoms?
For example, the sample is Ag Al Mg alloy, I want to find the number of Ag atoms which surrounds Al atoms.

I find the option 'histogram' in the list, but it only shows the total coordination number within the configuration.
How should I do?
Please give a detail procedure if it is possible, because I really don't know how to use this software. :'(

Thank you for your answer! I am still learning how to use this software :)

RMCtestFYP

Can OVITO plot the distribution of coordination number?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2018, 03:19:31 AM »
I find the option 'histogram' in OVITO, it plots the coordination number vs. count number. (the picture uploaded)

However, can I have the graph or data of the distribution of coordination number by OVITO? (like the example picture)

Thank you for reply :)

Constanze Kalcher

• Administrator
Re: How to get the coordination number of particular atoms?
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2018, 12:28:22 PM »
Hi there!  :)

Regarding your first question, I had a look at the example file you uploaded. It seems that the cell size is not correct, it's only a 1/8 of what it should be. Have a look at the first picture I attached. Before you continue with the analysis you should fix that.