Author Topic: Problem with export_file  (Read 191 times)

leila

Problem with export_file
« on: June 14, 2018, 04:21:03 PM »
Hi OVITO users,

I am very new to ovito. I tried to export the displacement magnitude of about 16000 atoms into txt file with this command:
export_file(node, "msd_data.%i.txt"%i,format = "txt", columns = ["Timestep", "MSD"], frame=i)

The problem is that it is just dumping 3 first and last numbers. For example:

# "Timestep" "MSD"
100 [ 0.2056347   0.39410666  0.37800705 ...,  0.33246541  0.34883693
  0.42290157]

I 'd appreciate your help.

Regards,
Leila

Alexander Stukowski

• Administrator
Re: Problem with export_file
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2018, 05:10:15 PM »
Dear Leila,

Please say something about the "MSD" array. How is it generated? And does it represent per-particle information or something else?

It seems that the "MSD" field currently is a global attribute and not a particle property. That is because the "txt" file export format only allows to export global attributes but not per-particle data. If you would like to export particle/=-based information, then you have make sure that "MSD" is a particle property first, and then use the "xyz" export format.

-Alex

leila

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2018, 08:55:16 PM »
Thank you so much Alex.
You are right. I was trying to export global attribute. It is working now :)

Regards,
Leila

leila

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2018, 09:36:07 PM »
Dear Alex,

I got another error.
I am trying to calculate displacement of each atom with respect to previous step.  It is working well for small time steps. However, my simulation has 4*10^5 time steps and I dumped every 100 steps. SO in total I have 4000 dump file. It just prints out 505 files and then aborts with this error
RuntimeError: Could not detect the file format. The format might not be supported.
ERROR: The Python script 'samp.py' has exited with an error.