Author Topic: Rendering Additional Particle Shapes  (Read 195 times)

NutsandBoltz

Rendering Additional Particle Shapes
« on: April 06, 2018, 04:13:33 PM »
Hello!

I am curious if there is a straightforward way to render additional particle shapes (e.g., pentagons, hexagons), that does not involve scripting. I am running simulations with 2D squares, pentagons, and other polygons, and would like to be able to make some video files for illustrative purposes.

If it is necessary to script these shapes myself, does anyone have any recommendations or advice as to where to start? I have searched for plugins or scripts that do something similar, but I have so far been unsuccessful.

I apologize if my question is too broad or vague. I am very new to Ovito and hard particle simulations in general. Thanks for your time!

Alexander Stukowski

• Administrator
Re: Rendering Additional Particle Shapes
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2018, 05:56:16 PM »
Hi,

I'm sorry, but the current program version is not able to render more "exotic" particle shapes other then the standard shapes (sphere, ellipsoid, cube, cylinder, etc.).

In principle, you could implement a user-defined viewport overlay in Python script to render your polygonal particles using 2D drawing calls. But in my eyes that approach would not make much sense since you could achieve the same results without Ovito using pure Python and plotting frameworks such as matplotlib.

In general, I would be open to ideas and suggestions of how to extend Ovito in this direction and enable the visualisation of more complex particle shapes. But I myself am not really familiar with the corresponding simulation tools and common practices. It still seems to be a niche application with a small audience (compared to atomistic simulations, where particles are typically point-like). There are several open questions that need to be discussed in order to design a useful extension to Ovito, for instance: