Author Topic: How can I scale the size of particle?  (Read 41 times)

fabregas04

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
How can I scale the size of particle?
« on: December 07, 2017, 02:58:41 AM »
I have several particle types in my dump file.
And they have different sizes but one of them is too large so that the others look like very tiny dust.
How can I change the other particles' size ??
If that is related to python script, I am really really a newbie to that so please tell me very specifically..

Alexander Stukowski

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 221
Re: How can I scale the size of particle?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 07:13:35 AM »
Hi,

OVITO uses the following information to determine the display size for individual particles:
  • per-particle radius (the Radius particle property if present)
  • per-type radius (0 by default; but may be non-zero if the particle type is named after a chemical element; go to the "Particle Types" entry in the pipeline editor to change the per-type radii)
  • global default radius (1.0 by default; can be changed in the particle display settings panel)
I listed the settings in order of priority: If one is 0 or not defined, OVITO falls back to the next in the list when determining the effective display radius for a particle.

-Alex

fabregas04

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How can I scale the size of particle?
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2017, 07:31:19 AM »
Thanks for the reply!

I think my question confuses you. I will clarify my problem more specifically.

My simulation box size is (5e3,3e3,3e3) and
Radii for particle types:
particle type 1 - 40
particle type 2 - 1.3
particle type 3 - 1.8
particle type 4 - 0.1

So in the display, particles which type is 2,3 and 4 look very small.
So I want to kind of zoom those particles without changing particle type 1.

Is it possible?

Alexander Stukowski

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 221
Re: How can I scale the size of particle?
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 07:51:04 AM »
Sorry, I still don't understand the problem, I think.

Why can't you just go to the "Particle Types" panel and change the radii of particle types 2-4 to some larger values to make the corresponding particles appear bigger in the viewports?