Author Topic: Compute Property Question  (Read 3111 times)

debasis Sengupta

Compute Property Question
« on: October 18, 2017, 09:04:37 PM »
Hi,
I am new to Ovito and trying to use Compute Property.  Loaded successfully a LAMMPS files.  I then added compute property modified.  Just for a test: I used Displacement property and defined them as X = Position.Z -10.0; Y=Position.Y-10 and Z = Position.Z-10.
I believe that Displacement will be stored somewhere as particle property. What is the next step? How do I view the property?

Same is for Atomic Strain.  I have loaded the LAMMPS files and a reference file.  How do I view the atomic strain?

When I run the trajectory, both of these modifier, it is flashing with every trajectory "Waiting for the input to be ready"
Thanks
Debasis

Alexander Stukowski

• Administrator
Re: Compute Property Question
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2017, 01:14:08 PM »
Dear Debasis,

Yes, you are right: The Compute Property modifier stores the computed values as a new particle property which is non-visual at first. There are various ways to make that data visible.

For a vector property such as "Displacement", Ovito can render an arrow for each particle in the viewports. For this, you need to check the box next to the "Displacement" entry under the "Display" section of the pipeline editor. See the attached screenshot.

Another option to make property data visible is to use the Color Coding modifier to translate a scalar property (e.g. "Shear Strain" computed by the Atomic Strain modifier) into a particle color. So if you add this modifier to the pipeline, particles will be assigned a color based on the value of the selected particle property.

-Alex

debasis Sengupta

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2017, 05:30:32 PM »
Thank you Alex for your help. I was able to plot strain on top of each particle.  I have another question though. How does it calculate the strain?  I am assuming the following: